Virginia Commonwealth University

VCU Massey Cancer Center

Scientific External Advisory Board

VCU Massey Cancer Center's Scientific External Advisory Board is composed of scientists and senior leaders from other major cancer centers. This distinguished committee of experts in cancer research, prevention and control and administration serves in an advisory capacity for Massey's director and senior leaders on matters of scientific program structure and research and overall Center planning and management. In addition to the standing external advisory membership, ad hoc advisors are added to the roster periodically to assess and advise regarding specific programs, shared resources or inter-programmatic activities.


Edmund Lattime, Ph.D. - Committee Chair
Deputy director
Cancer Institute of New Jersey 

Michael Becich, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, pathology informatics
University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute

Webster K. Cavenee, Ph.D.
Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
University of California at San Diego

Theodore DeWeese, M.D.
Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology & Molecular Radiation Sciences
Bloomberg School of Public Health
Johns Hopkins University

Mark Dewhirst, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Director, Radiation Oncology Research Program
Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center
Duke University Medical Center

Robert Diasio, M.D.
Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center

H. Shelton Earp III, M.D.
Director, UNC Cancer Care
Professor of Medicine & Pharmacology
UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

Peter Embi, M.D., M.S.
Vice chair, Department of Biomedical Informatics
Ohio State University Medical Center

Beverly R. Ginsburg-Cooper, M.B.A.
Huron Consulting Group

Yusuf A Hannun, M.D.
Director, Stony Brook Cancer Center
Vice Dean for Cancer Medicine
Joel Kenny Professor of Medicine
Stony Brook University

Steven J. Katz, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Health Management & Policy
University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

KyungMann Kim, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Biostatistics & Medical Informatics
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Polly A Newcomb, Ph.D.
Program Head, Cancer Prevention
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Robert Powell, M.Ed.
RSP & Associates

Frank J. Rauscher III, Ph.D.
Deputy director, basic research
Wistar Institute

Ann G. Schwartz, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Deputy director
Karmanos Cancer Institute
Wayne State University School of Medicine

Donald “Skip” Trump, M.D.
President & CEO
Roswell Park Cancer Institute

Daniel Welch, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Cancer Biology
University of Kansas Cancer Center