Virginia Commonwealth University

VCU Massey Cancer Center

Contact us

Directory of palliative care programs and services

Palliative care consult service: Telepage at 828-0951 from within the VCU Medical Center and ask for the palliative care physician on call.

The Thomas Palliative Care Unit: main desk at (804) 628-1295

Supportive care clinic: appointment desk at (804) 828-7999

Virginia Initiative for Palliative Care: Carrie Cybulski at (804) 628-1918

Palliative Care Leadership Center: Carrie Cybulski at (804) 628-1918

Advanced Palliative Care Nursing Externship: Carrie Cybulski at (804) 628-1918

Hospice and Palliative Care Fellowship programVictoria Mansfield at (804) 628-5016

Directory of palliative care team members

Palliative care is interdisciplinary by nature, incorporating the expertise of nurses, social workers, pharmacists, physicians, chaplains, specialized psychologists, occupational and physical therapists and others to provide a comprehensive solution to patient needs.

Administration

Egidio Del Fabbro, M.D.
Program Director, Palliative Care Endowed Chair
egidio.delfabbro@vcuhealth.org

Danielle Noreika, M.D., FACP
Medical Director, Thomas Palliative Care Unit
danielle.noreika@vcuhealth.org

Erin Alesi, M.D.
Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship Director
erin.alesi@vcuhealth.org

Jessica Gray, M.S., RN, BMTCN
Nurse Manager, Thomas Palliative Care Unit
jessica.gray@vcuhealth.org

Ruchir Shah, M.D.
Medical Director, Hospice and Palliative Care, Veterans’ Affairs Medical Center
ruchir.shah@va.gov

Clinical and research team

Tara Albrecht, Ph.D., ACNP-BC
Assistant Professor, Adult Health and Nursing
talbrecht@vcu.edu

Erin Alesi, M.D.
Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship Director
erin.alesi@vcuhealth.org

Hope Barner, RN, BSN
Palliative Nurse, Dalton Clinic
felicia.barner@vcuhealth.org

Barton T. Bobb, APN
Advanced Practice Nurse
barton.bobb@vcuhealth.org

Donna Burns-Stewart, Ph.D.
Volunteer Coordinator
donna.burns-stewart@vcuhealth.org 

Jason Callahan, M.Div., M.S.
Chaplain, Inpatient Palliative Care
jcallahan@vcu.edu

Brian Cassel, Ph.D.
Palliative Care Research
brian.cassel@vcuhealth.org

Carrie Cybulski
Virginia Initiative for Palliative Care program coordinator
carrie.cybulski@vcuhealth.org

Egidio Del Fabbro, M.D.
Program Director, Palliative Care Endowed Chair
egidio.delfabbro@vcuhealth.org

Caitlin Duffy, M.S.W.
Social Work
duffyc@vcu.edu

Teri Dulong-Rae
Administrative Assistant, Palliative Care Program
teri.dulongrae@vcuhealth.org

Jessica Gray, M.S., RN, BMTCN
Nurse Manager, Thomas Palliative Care Unit
jessica.gray@vcuhealth.org

Diane Kane, M.S.W.
Social Work
diane.kane@vcuhealth.org

Laura Morgan, PharmD, M.Ed., BCPS
Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy
lamorgan@vcu.edu

Danielle Noreika, M.D., FACP
Medical Director, Thomas Palliative Care Unit
danielle.noreika@vcuhealth.org

Tamara Orr, Ph.D., LCP
Clinical Psychologist
tamara.orr@vcuhealth.org

Meera Pahuja, M.D.
Physician, Assistant Professor
meera.pahuja@vcuhealth.org

Rachel Selby-Penczak, M.D.
Physician, Assistant Professor of Medicine
Medical Director, New Century Hospice
rachel.selby-penczak@vcuhealth.org 

Ruchir Shah, M.D.
Medical Director, Hospice and Palliative Care, Veterans’ Affairs Medical Center
ruchir.shah@va.gov

Laura Shanks, CNS
Nurse Clinician
laura.shanks@vcuhealth.org

Susan Stella, B.S.Ed., DPT
Occupational and Physical Therapist
Susan.stella@vcuhealth.org 

Suzänne F. Taylor, Ph.D., OTR/L
Occupational Therapist, Cancer Rehabilitation
suzanne.taylor@vcuhealth.org

Wendy Thompson, NP
Nurse Practitioner
wendy.thompson@vcuhealth.org

Jessica Tsukanov, DO
Physician, Assistant Professor
jessica.tsukanov@vcuhealth.org

Devon Wojcikewych, M.D.
Physician, Assistant Professor
devon.wojcikewych@vcu.edu

2016-17 Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellows

Lakeshia Entzminger, M.D.
Physician, Fellow
lakeshia.entzminger@vcuhealth.org

Kelly Lastrapes, M.D.
Physician, Fellow
kelly.lastrapes@vcuhealth.org

James O’Connor, M.D.
Physician, Fellow
james.oconnor@vcuhealth.org

Emily Rivet, M.D.
Physician, Fellow
emily.rivet@vcuhealth.org

Jason Zeidan, M.D.
Physician, Fellow
issa.zeidan@vcuhealth.org