Virginia Commonwealth University

VCU Massey Cancer Center

Contact us

Directory of palliative care programs and services

Palliative care consult service: Telepage at 828-0951 from within the VCU Medical Center and ask for the palliative care physician on call.

The Thomas Palliative Care Unit: main desk at (804) 628-1295

Supportive care clinic: appointment desk at (804) 828-7999

Virginia Initiative for Palliative Care: Carrie Cybulski at (804) 628-1918

Palliative Care Leadership Center: Carrie Cybulski at (804) 628-1918

Advanced Palliative Care Nursing Externship: Carrie Cybulski at (804) 628-1918

Hospice and Palliative Care Fellowship program: Rachel Ferguson at (804) 828-9724

Directory of palliative care team members

Palliative care is interdisciplinary by nature, incorporating the expertise of nurses, social workers, pharmacists, physicians, chaplains, specialized psychologists, occupational and physical therapists and others to provide a comprehensive solution to patient needs.

Leadership team

Del Fabbro, Egidio, M.D.
Medical director
edelfabbro@vcu.edu

Coyne, Patrick, M.S.N., A.P.R.N., F.A.A.N.
Clinical director
pcoyne@vcu.edu

Wiencek, Clareen, Ph.D., C.N.P., A.C.H.P.N.
Nurse manager of the Thomas Palliative Care Unit
cwiencek@mcvh-vcu.edu

Clinical and research team

Bobb, Bart, A.P.N.
Advanced practice nurse
bbobb@mcvh-vcu.edu

Bowman, Mary Elizabeth, CNP
Certified nurse practitioner
mbowman2@vcu.edu

Cassel, Brian, Ph.D.
Palliative care researcher
jbcassel@vcu.edu

Coyne, Ellie
Volunteer coordinator
ecoyne@mcvh-vcu.edu

Cybulski, Carrie
Virginia Initiative for Palliative Care program coordinator
ccybulski@mcvh-vcu.edu

Denick, Cheryl, M.D., J.D.
Fellow
cdenick@mcvh-vcu.edu

Fleming, Suzanne
Occupational therapist
sfleming3@mcvh-vcu.edu

Fletcher, Devon, M.D.
Fellow
dfletcher@vcu.edu

Fletcher, James, M.D.
Fellow
tford@mcvh-vcu.edu

Kamani, Aziza, M.D.
Fellow
llyckholm@mcvh-vcu.edu

Noreika, Danielle, M.D.
Fellow
torr2@vcu.edu

Pahuja, Meera, M.D.
Fellow
mpahuja@mcvh-vcu.edu

Rauenzahn, Sherri, M.D.
Fellow
rselby-penczak@mcvh-vcu.edu

Swainey, Craig, M.D. 
Assistant professor
cswainey@mcvh-vcu.edu

Tatu, William, D.P.T.
Physical therapist
wtatu@mcvh-vcu.edu