VCU Massey Cancer Center

Menu

Tissue and Data Acquisition and Analysis Core

The Tissue and Data Acquisition and Analysis Core (TDAAC) provides high-quality controlled human tissue samples to investigators, as well as provides customized services to assist them in all tissue collection, consenting, and processing needs. The core is in close collaboration with many centers and departments within VCU Health, including VCU Massey Cancer Center, and the Departments of Pathology, Surgery, and Internal Medicine.

Mission

To provide support for biomedical research at VCU by maintaining and providing a bank of high-quality human tissue samples using best practice collection methodologies, maintaining appropriate patient protections and integrating relevant clinical data. 

To provide support for customized tissue collection, consenting and sample processing that meet the unique needs of the researcher.  

More information about the Tissue Data Acquisition and Analysis Core is available on the main TDAAC website.

Who we are 

Michael Idowu, M.P.H., M.D. 
Director
michael.idowu@vcuhealth.org

Tana Blevins
Genomic Technologist
tana.blevins@vcuhealth.org

Kory Davis
Laboratory Research Specialist
kory.davis@vcuhealth.org

Pamela Jill Grizzard
Manager 
pamela.grizzard@vcuhealth.org

Brandy Greenawalt
Clinical research coordinator
brandy.greenawalt@vcuhealth.org

Irene Gonzalez
Information Technology
irene.gonzalez@vcuhealth.org

Member subsidy

Per the member subsidy program, members pay 75 percent of the cost of their core laboratory usage.  

Citation

All publications that include results, services or products generated by VCU Massey Cancer Center Shared Resources must include the following acknowledgement in the manuscript:

"Services in support of the research project were provided by the VCU Massey Cancer Center Tissue and Data Acquisition and Analysis Core, supported, in part, with funding from NIH-NCI Cancer Center Support Grant P30 CA016059." 

PubMed Central (PMC) ID numbers are required for those publications that use CCSG-supported shared resources. All of Massey Cancer Center's shared resources are supported by the CCSG.